The Department of Philosophy, University of Aberdeen

Information that may be of interest to academics thinking of applying to the Bednarowski Trust

I. General information

In addition to the Department of Philosophy itself there is now, associated with it, a Centre for Knowledge and Society. There is a wide range of research interests pursued by the present staff of the Department:

Epistemology

Early Modern Philosophy, especially Spinoza

Metaphysics, especially Philosophy of Time

Ethics and Political Philosophy, especially Gender Equality

History and Philosophy of Science, especially Biology

Philosophy of Language

Philosophy of Mind, especially Thought

Philosophy of Religion

Continental Philosophy and Poststructuralism

Specific interests of individual members are indicated briefly in II below; for further information, including details of publications, see under 'staff' on the Philosophy website (address as above).

A programme of Visiting Speakers and Departmental research seminars takes place on some Wednesday afternoons in term time. The Department has organised conferences regularly; themes have included The Concept of Information in Contemporary Biology, Utopias, Evolution Before Darwin, History of Modern Philosophy, Global Citizenship, Aesthetics and Technology, Natural Theology, Moral Contextualism, and Intuitive Understanding. In common with the other ancient Scottish Universities, Aberdeen hosts the Gifford Lectures in Natural Theology every few years and runs the Scottish Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy.

II. Members of academic staff and their interests

Currently in the Department of Philosophy (main research interests)

Gerry Hough: Philosophy of Language and Mind and the History of Analytic Philosophy; also, the philosophy of action and Descartes and Hume.

Michael Laffin: Ethics and Political Theology; Martin Luther, History of Political Philosophy

Beth Lord: Poststructuralism, History of Philosophy, 17th and 18th Century Philosophy, Spinoza, Continental Philosophy.

Federico Luzzi: epistemology, particularly in the epistemology of inference and of testimony; epistemic injustice and analytic feminism.

Luca Moretti: Epistemology; Formal Epistemology, Philosophical Logic, Metaphysics, Philosophy of science; also Scepticism, epistemic closure and transmission of warrant, basic justification, Bayesian analysis of scepticism.

Ulrich Stegmann: Philosophy of Biology, History and Philosophy of Science.

Paula Sweeney: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Time

Stephan Torre: Philosophy of time, First-Person Thought, persistence and modality.

Emeritus and Honorary Staff (main interests indicated only where not already listed above):

Robin Cameron (philosophy of mathematics; philosophy of logic – especially conditionality)

Patricia Clarke (Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato's metaphysics)

Nigel Dower (ethics/philosophy of development, environment and international relations; global ethics; global citizenship)

Daniel Shaw (Hume, moral philosophy, aesthetics, utilitarianism, philosophy of mind and action, freewill)

M. A. Stewart (based in Edinburgh but attached to Aberdeen) (18th Century Scottish Philosophy)