Skip to main content
Skip banner

Department History of Philosophy

Head of the Department

dr hab. Michał Bohun mail - m.bohun<- @ ->


dr hab. Leszek Augustyn mail - l.augustyn<- @ ->
dr  Jadwiga Guerrero van der Meijden mail -
dr Przemysław Spryszak mail - p.spryszak<- @ ->
dr Jakub Szczepański mail - j.szczepanski<- @ ->
dr hab. Izabela Szyroka-Łagowska mail - iszyroka<- @ ->
dr Anna Tomaszewska mail - a.tomaszewska<- @ ->

Ph.D Students

mgr Radzisław Franczak
mgr Michał Jędrzejek
dr    Andrzej Krawiec
mgr Monika Mazur-Bubak
mgr Benedykt Olszewski
mgr Magdalena Piasecka
mgr Tomasz Stanowski
mgr Dariusz Stąpor
mgr Agata Tymczyszyn
mgr Daniel Wańczyk
mgr Mateusz Waśko
mgr Joanna Wyrzykowska
mgr Maciej Zarych



The Faculty of Philosophy is among the oldest ones at the University, as its history can be traced back to the Faculty of Liberal Arts formed in 1364. Thus, philosophy has ever since been present at the Jagiellonian University. Formally, the Faculty of Philosophy was established in the 20th century.
After World War II, the Faculty changed its name into the Faculty of Humanities to be later transformed into the Faculty of Philosophy and Social Sciences (1951), and then into the Faculty of Philosophy and History (1953). Around that time, Władysław Tatarkiewicz and Roman Ingarden, among others, started to work at the Faculty. However, soon they were banned from teaching because Polish philosophy became at that time the handmaiden of the Marxist-Leninist ideology. In the year 1956/57, the Marxist-Leninist chair was transformed into the Chair of Philosophy under the guidance of the eminent Polish phenomenologist and a disciple of Edmund Husserl, Roman Ingarden, and the Chair of History of Philosophy was taken by Izydora Dąmbska, a representative of the Lvov-Warsaw School. In the sixties, these chairs merged into the Institute of Philosophy.
After Ingarden had retired in 1963, Dąmbska was forced to leave the Jagiellonian University and was offered a position at the Polish Academy of Sciences. The heads of the Chair of the History of Philosophy were: from 1977 to 1984 Zbigniew Kuderowicz, from 1984 to 1998 Bronisław Łagowski, and from 1998 – Justyna Miklaszewska.

The Department is formed by the following academics who conduct research in a number of fields: Justyna Miklaszewska (modern philosophy, political and social philosophy), Ryszard Legutko (political and social philosophy, ancient philosophy), Elżbieta Paczkowska-Łagowska (contemporary philosophy, philosophical anthropology), Michał Bohun (political and social philosophy, Russian philosophy), Leszek Augustyn (political and social philosophy, Russian philosophy, philosophy of religion), Janusz Mizera (contemporary philosophy, phenomenology), Izabela Szyroka (contemporary philosophy, autobiography), Jakub Szczepański (modern philosophy, political and social philosophy), Przemysław Spryszak (modern philosophy, philosophy of perception), Anna Tomaszewska (modern philosophy, philosophy of perception, philosophy of religion), Michał Bizoń (ancient and medieval philosophy) and Sonia Kamińska (ancient philosophy, phenomenology).


Polish Philosophical Society, Branch in Krakow


Byli pracownicy Zakładu Historii Filozofii

Emerytowani Pracownicy

prof. dr hab. Elżbieta Paczkowska-Łagowska mail - e.paczkowska<- @ ->
prof. dr hab. Ryszard Legutko mail - r.legutko<- @ ->
prof. Bronisław Łagowski
prof. Jan Skoczyński